The Des Moines Business Record selected 10 Central Iowa women for recognition in this, the 10th year for our annual Women of Influence honors.

The Women of Influence honorees for 2009 are: Jacqueline Easley, director of diversity services for Mercy Medical Center; Carolyn Helmlinger, president of Mid-America Group; Rose Kleyweg-Mitchell, senior vice president of education and governmental affairs for Hy-Vee Inc.; Madeleine Maxwell, first lady of Drake University; Soozie McBroom, co-chair of Restoration Ingersoll; philanthropist Joan Middleton; Susan Noland, owner of Susan Noland Designs in Gold; Judy Winkelpleck, chief operating officer for the Civic Center of Greater Des Moines; and Siew-San Wong, director of work force and education initiatives for Des Moines Area Community College.

Rounding out the list is Rowena Crosbie, president of Tero International, who was chosen as the third annual Woman Business Owner of the Year.

The public is invited to attend a reception honoring these women on Aug. 11 at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown, 700 Grand Ave. The event begins at 4:30 p.m. with cocktails, hors d'oeuvres and networking, followed by the presentation of awards at 5. Admission is $25.

Mercy Cancer Center and Katzmann Breast Center, and State Farm Insurance sponsor the event. EmbarkIT Inc. sponsors the Woman Business Owner of the Year award.