Age 32  |  Director of community investment and initiatives, ?Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines

As a high school student, Angela Dethlefs-Trettin was walking through the halls of her school when she was intrigued by a sign that read, “What would you do with $10,000?”

The sign was promoting Teen Trust, an offshoot of the Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa that allowed high-school students to grant funding to community groups and organizations. Dethlefs-Trettin joined and was soon helping make grants to food banks and homeless shelters. She said the group taught her the true meaning of philanthropy: “It’s something that everyone can do.”

Since her grant-writing days in high school, she’s worked at the Iowa Council of Foundations and the Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa. Last August, she began working at the Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines as the director of community investment and initiatives.

“Angela is a known and respected leader in her field,” wrote Andrew Allen, assistant director of community relations for Principal Financial Group Inc. “She’s been an advocate providing statewide leadership on legislative issues, including the very successful Endow Iowa Tax Credits.”

Dethlefs-Trettin dedicates her time and energy to the nonprofit sector outside work as well. She is an active member of St. Mark Lutheran Church, where she chairs the St. Mark Foundation, helped create ministry programming for those in their 20s and 30s and helps coordinate FEAST, a social event that allows young professionals to meet over a meal.

“It’s a great way to be involved and get to know people,” she said.

She also sits on the grant-making committees for the Chrysalis Foundation, the Susan G. Komen for the Cure Iowa affiliate and the Iowa Women’s Foundation. “It just helps me learn even more about nonprofits and how things work,” she said.

When not writing grants or working with other nonprofit organizations, Dethlefs-Trettin said her attention is focused on her 4- year-old son, Henry, and her husband, Matt Trettin.

Five reasons she’s a 40:

• Oversees the Community Foundation’s BoardLaunch program, which provides training to board members and staff at nonprofit organizations.

• Co-presented the Iowa Nonprofit Awards at the Iowa Nonprofit Summit with Gov. Terry Branstad.

• Member of the grant-making committee of the Chrysalis Foundation and Susan G. Komen for the Cure’s Iowa affiliate.

• Invited to serve on committees related to the National Standards for U.S. Community Foundations.

• Current chair of the St. Mark Foundation.

Mentor: Kristi Knous, president, Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines

Fun fact: Although she is planner who loves making spreadsheets as well as pre- and post-trip itineraries, Dethlefs-Trettin said her favorite vacation is holing up in a cabin and doing nothing but fishing. “I can even clean them,” she said.

Presenting the 2013 winners:

Desmund Adams, Principal, AdamsDouglas
Lindsay Alderman, Client operations manager, LightEdge Solutions Inc.
Erica Axiotis, Director of development, Mercy Foundation
Kate Banasiak, President and CEO, Diversified Management Services Inc.
Erin Beamis, Senior vice president of logistics and operations, IronWorks
Jonathan Brendemuehl, Marketing events coordinator, Bankers Trust Co.
Curtis Brown, Economic development director, city of Ankeny
Matt Connolly, President, Generation Green Builders Co.
Lawrence Cunningham, Director of business development, Catchfire Media LLC
Angela Dethlefs-Trettin, Director of community investment and initiatives, Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines
Josh Fleming, Digital strategy director, Lessing-Flynn Advertising Co.
Felix Gallagher, Principal, PharmServ Solutions
Lori Gelhaar, Director of career services/ corporate relations, Kaplan University
Tina Gray Carstensen, Marketing coordinator, Shive-Hattery Inc.
Shane Greenleaf, Vice president/commercial banker, First American Bank
Danielle Haindfield, Shareholder attorney, Ahlers & Cooney P.C.
Emily Harris, Patent attorney and shareholder at Davis Brown Law Firm
Matthew Harris, Division administrator, Iowa Arts Council, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs
Angela Hilbert, Sales and marketing director, Deerfield Retirement Community
Joey Hinke, President, Miller, Fidler & Hinke Insurance Agency Inc.
Hannah Inman, Director of communications, Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation
Keegan Kautzky, Director of national education programs, The World Food Prize Foundationn
John Lozier, Pediatric interventional cardiologist, Pediatric Cardiology P.C.
Dennis McDaniel, Police chief, Windsor Heights
Rachel McLean, Vice president/consultant, Ruan Cos
John Mickelson, Associate managing director, The PrivateBank & Trust Co.
Keith Olson, Commercial associate, NAI Ruhl & Ruhl Commercial Co.
Matt Ostanik, President, Submittal Exchange LLC
Benjamin Page, Director, Des Moines park and recreation
Dustin Peterson, Partner, McGladrey LLP
Nick Renkoski, Director of marketing and communications, Des Moines Metro Opera
Rachel Rowley, Partner, BrownWinick PLC
John Ruan IV, Vice president, financial institutions, Bankers Trust Co.
Jennifer Soma, Business lead, IDI Actuarial and Product Development Group, Principal Financial Group Inc.
Heather Starr, Real estate agent, RE/MAX Innovations
Aimee Staudt, Director of development, Knapp Properties Inc.
Courtney Strutt Todd, Shareholder attorney, Davis Brown Law Firm
Nikki Sylverson, Event Director, Des Moines Wine Festival Foundation
Howard Tempero, Experience design strategist, Spindustry Digital
Tony Timm, Executive director, Central Iowa Shelter & Services