Design and engineering firms that are based in Greater Des Moines or have offices in the area will receive Excellence in Energy Efficient Design awards for their work on news construction projects. The awards will be presented during the fall conference of the Iowa chapter of the American Institute of Architects Thursday and Friday at the Community Choice Credit Union Convention Center at Veterans Memorial in Des Moines. The award is sponsored by MidAmerican Energy Co., Alliant Energy Corp. and Black Hills Energy. 

Here are the winners:

  1. StruXture Architects and MODUS Engineering for the Ankeny Community School District’s Prairie Trail Elementary School, achieving a 71 percent annual kBTU savings.
  2. Substance Architecture and KJWW Engineering Consultants for the University of Iowa Football Complex – Indoor Practice Facility in Iowa City, achieving a 70 percent annual kBTU savings.
  3. StruXture Architects and MODUS Engineering for the Blessed Maria Assunta Pallotta Middle School in Waterloo, achieving a 64 percent annual kBTU savings.

 Design Award Recipients/Page 2

  1. OPN Architects and Farris Engineering for the Des Moines Fire Training and Logistics Facility, achieving a 63 percent annual kBTU savings.
  2. OPN Architects and Design Engineers for the Iowa City Community School District’s Norman Borlaug Elementary School in Coralville, achieving a 61 percent annual kBTU savings.
  3. DLR Group for the DC-G Community School District’s Meadows School in Grimes, achieving a 59 percent annual kBTU savings.
  4. Shive-Hattery Architecture + Engineering for the Washington Elementary School addition in Mount Vernon, achieving a 58 percent annual kBTU savings.
  5. Laugerman Architects, Bluestone Engineering and Riesberg Engineering for the city of Huxley’s multi-purpose tornado safe room, achieving a 57 percent annual kBTU savings.
  6. DLR Group for the Anamosa Middle School, achieving a 56 percent annual kBTU savings.
  7. DLR Group for the Chariton Community School District’s high school renovation, achieving a 55 percent annual kBTU savings.
  8. OPN Architects and Design Engineers for the Marion Independent School District’s Vernon Middle School, achieving a 54 percent annual kBTU savings.
  9. RDG Planning and Design for the Spaulding Center for Transportation, home of the Iowa Transportation Museum in Grinnell, achieving a 49 percent annual kBTU savings.