Thirty participants have been selected for the Community Connect intergenerational mentorship program, the Social Capital Committee of the Capital Crossroads regional vision plan announced today.

Community Connect is an effort by community leaders to expand leadership throughout the region by inspiring future leaders and givers through mentoring connections.

Community mentors such as Kristi Knous, Jay Byers, Scott Raecker and Mary Sellers among others, will mentor the group during the five-month program.

The effort is funded by the Community Foundation of Greater Des MOines and the Greater Des Moines Partnership. More information can be found at

Community mentors include: Bob Andeweg, Nyemaster Good, P.C., &  Urbandale Mayor; Mary Bontrager, Greater Des Moines Partnership; Jay Byers, Greater Des Moines Partnership; Mike Colwell, Business Innovation Zone; Cara Heiden, Wells Fargo & Co., Retired; Phil Hodgin, RDG Planning & Design; H. Lynn Horak, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., Retired; Carolyn Jenison, Ballet Des Moines; Kristi Knous, Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines; Rose Mitchell, Hy-Vee, Retired; Alex Piedras, Grand View University; Scott Raecker, Character Counts In Iowa; Dana Ramundt, The Dana Company; and Mary Sellers, United Way of Central Iowa  

The 30 participants include:

Jeff Anderlik, Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield

Pattie Anderson, RBC Wealth Management

Anne Bacon, Bidwell Riverside Center

Kate Banasiak, Diversified Management Services

Jacki Boldt, Des Moines Area Community College

Carrie Clogg, Civic Music Association

Brian Crotty, HDH Advisors, LLC

Kari Dyjak, Amgen

Brianne Fitzgerald, United Way of Central Iowa

Allie Geysen, PepsiCo

Jami Haberl, Safeguard Iowa Partnership

Richard Hannasch, Principal Financial Group

Julie Hergenrader, Daiichi Sankyo

Gregory Jackson, Wells Fargo Bank

Carrie Kruse, City of Des Moines

Zachary Lukasiewicz, SALT Solutions

Ana Mancebo, Iowa Citizens for Community Involvement

Michael McInerney, The Dana Company

David Nelmark, Belin McCormick, PC

Olga Poputnikova, EMC Insurance Companies

Levi Rosol, Goodsmiths

Colleen Scharlau, Marsh & McLennan

Kelsey Sinnwell, Visionary Services, Inc.

Amy Smith, PrimeLending

Joe Sorenson, Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines

Sara Stibitz, Self-employed

Sunni Swarbrick, Simpson College

Angela Ten Clay, TMG Financial Services

Jordan Watkins, Blue Oak Construction Group LLC

Kaylee Williams, VolunteerLocal