The Iowa Department of Natural Resources is seeking public input on its 2020 State Forest Action Plan. The plan includes a comprehensive assessment of the state’s forests, which is a requirement of the Farm Bill. It must be revised every 10 years for the state to receive federal funding. It includes the status of Iowa’s forests, recent trends, goals and strategies for the next decade. The plan also includes GIS mapping features and additional websites and resources to help engage residents. The plan is available for viewing and comment by clicking here. Major state forests in Iowa include Stephens State Forest near Chariton, Shimek State Forest near Farmington, Yellow River State Forest in Allamakee County, and Loess Hills State Forest in western Iowa. There are also six smaller state forests that range from 34 acres to 314 acres, including Backbone State Forest in Delaware County, White Pine Hollow State Forest in Dubuque County, Holst, Barkley, and Pilot Mound state forests in Boone County, and Gifford State Forest in Pottawattamie County. For more information on the state forests, click here.