The 58th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars includes three seniors from Iowa high schools, the Iowa Department of Education announced Thursday. The three students are Maxwell J. Aulwes of Chariton High School in Chariton, Jonathan Chen, West High School in Iowa City, and Kavya Kalathur, Pleasant Valley Community High School in Bettendorf. Chen and Kalathur were recognized for academic achievement and Aulwes for his accomplishments in career and technical education. A complete list of 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars is available on the U.S. Department of Education website.