The Business Record is proud to announce the 20th annual list of Forty Under 40 honorees.

These 40 local business leaders, who were chosen by past award winners, are under the age of 40 and have demonstrated impressive career achievements and unparalleled community involvement.

Together, they join 760 past Business Record Forty Under 40 honorees to bring the total number of honorees to 800 since the Business Record began the awards in 2000.

Each of the honorees will be profiled in the March 15 edition of the Business Record and recognized at an event on March 28. Congratulations to all of this year's honorees! Know a past honoree worthy of further recognition? Forty Under 40 Alumnus of the year nominations are open through Feb. 8. Contact Jason Swanson at or submit your nomination here.

Event Information:
Date: March 28, 2019
Location: Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Time: 4 to 7 p.m.
Register here

2019 Forty Under 40 honorees:



2019 Honorees:

Joshua V. Barr - Des Moines Civil and Human Rights Commission

Caroline Bettis - Bradshaw, Fowler, Proctor & Fairgrave, P.C.

Shannon Bielski - DLL Finance

Lindsay Black - Iowa Realty (HomeServices of Iowa)

Matt Blake - LeadingAge Iowa

Karla Bromwell - Planned Parenthood of the Heartland

Mari Bunney - RBC Wealth Management

Lauren Burgeson - Iowa State Bank

Jennifer Carruthers - 11 Eleven Productions

Miriam De Dios Woodward - PolicyWorks/Affiliates Management Company

Kendra Erkamaa - Triangle Financial Services

Brandon Foldes - SHYFT Collective

Stephanie Greiner - Des Moines University

Lydia Hornung - John Deere Des Moines Works

Melissa Knutson - NCMIC Group

Shelly Kopriva - Strategic America

Angela Kruse - Wells Fargo Home Mortgage

Jessie Lowry - Blank Park Zoo

Reed McManigal - Holmes Murphy

Joe Murphy - Greater Des Moines Partnership

Hank Norem - Ramco Innovations

Melissa O'Neil - Central Iowa Shelter and Services

Robert Palmer - Iowa League of Cities

Lara Plaisance - Hopkins & Huebner

Matt Romkey - Mercy College of Health Sciences

Teresa Roof - Wellmark Blue and Cross Blue Shield

Emily Schmitt - Sukup Manufacturing

Jennifer Schumann - BH Equities, LLC

Gina Skinner-Thebo - B&G Foods/Tone's Spices

Katie Stull - Des Moines Area Regional Transit (DART)

Jeremiah Terhark - Webspec Design

Nora Tobin - Self-Help International

Matthew Van Loon - Ryan Cos.

Chris Verlengia - Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield

Whitney Warne - Ivory House Photography

Emily Webb - Businessolver

Tyler Weig - South Suburban YMCA

Tyler Wyngarden - Technology Association of Iowa

Mee Yang-Lee - Principal Financial Group

Jessica Zaugg - Nationwide

The Business Record is seeking nominations for our 19th annual ?Forty Under 40 Awards. Candidates will be judged on both professional accomplishments and involvement with civic organizations. Nominees must be less than 40 years old as of March 29, 2018, to be considered for recognition. Nominations must be received by Friday, Jan. 12, at noon.

Learn more about Forty Under 40:
Check out the videos below for some tips and advice about the nomination process and how we select the class each year. If you still have more questions about the nomination process, please email BPC Vice President Jason Swanson at

VIDEO: Forty Under 40 FAQ
Chris Conetzkey, publisher of the Business Record, interviews Jason Swanson, vice president at Business Publications Corporation, about some of the most frequently asked Forty Under 40 questions he receives, and gets some advice from Swanson on how to stand out to the nominating committee. Watch Video

VIDEO: How the Forty under 40 class is selected
One of the questions we get asked the most is, "how do you pick the 40 honorees?" To help demystify the process, Business Record Publisher Chris Conetzkey asks BPC Vice President Jason Swanson to explain how the selection process works, who does the judging and what the judges are looking for. Watch Video

Past Forty Under 40's

Class of 2018
Class of 2017
Class of 2016
Class of 2015
Class of 2014
Class of 2013
Class of 2012
Class of 2011
Class of 2010
Class of 2009
Class of 2008

Complete class history


Connect with us

Twitter: @BusinessRecord
Event Hashtag: #BR40U40

More questions?

Send an email to Jason Swanson, BPC vice president.