Another year, another batch of 40s, another year looking at our own resumes and feeling just a tad inadequate.

I joke, but, in all seriousness, every year we rave about how talented and involved the people are that we honor. And every year, we are reassured that our community is in such good hands.

These 40 local business leaders under the age of 40 have demonstrated impressive career achievements and unparalleled community involvement, and they join a list of more than 560 past Business Record Forty Under 40 honorees.

I spent some time this year looking at our full list of past 40s and it’s so great to look back at the names and see all the people who were honored, and who have continued to serve our community.

Each of this year’s honorees are profiled in the following pages. Get to know them. They’ll be influencing central Iowa for years to come.

Congratulations again to all of this year’s honorees - you are an inspiration to me personally, to the Business Record team, and to the entire business community.

Keep up the great work, and keep in touch as you continue your careers.

– Chris Conetzkey, Editor of the Business Record

The Facts on the 2013 class:

2013 Class:

Desmund Adams - Principal, AdamsDouglas
Lindsay Alderman - Client operations manager, LightEdge Solutions Inc.
Erica Axiotis - Director of development, Mercy Foundation
Kate Banasiak - President and CEO, Diversified Management Services Inc.
Erin Bemis - Senior vice president of logistics and operations, IronWorks
Jonathan Brendemuehl - Marketing events coordinator, Bankers Trust Co.
Curtis Brown - Economic development director, city of Ankeny
Matt Connolly - President, Generation Green Builders Co.
Lawrence Cunningham - Director of business development, Catchfire Media LLC
Angela Dethlefs-Trettin - Director of community investment and initiatives, Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines
Josh Fleming - Digital strategy director, Lessing-Flynn Advertising Co.
Felix Gallagher - Principal, PharmServ Solutions
Lori Gelhaar - Director of career services/ corporate relations, Kaplan University
Tina Gray Carstensen - Marketing coordinator, Shive-Hattery Inc.
Shane Greenleaf - Vice president/commercial banker, First American Bank
Danielle Haindfield - Shareholder attorney, Ahlers & Cooney P.C.
Emily Harris - Patent attorney and shareholder at Davis Brown Law Firm
Matthew Harris - Division administrator, Iowa Arts Council, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs
Angela Hilbert - Sales and marketing director, Deerfield Retirement Community
Joey Hinke - President, Miller, Fidler & Hinke Insurance Agency Inc.
Hannah Inman - Director of communications, Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation
Keegan Kautzky - Director of national education programs, The World Food Prize Foundation
John Lozier - Pediatric interventional cardiologist, Pediatric Cardiology P.C.
Dennis McDaniel - Police chief, Windsor Heights
Rachel McLean - Vice president/consultant, Ruan Cos
John Mickelson - Associate managing director, The PrivateBank & Trust Co.
Keith Olson - Commercial associate, NAI Ruhl & Ruhl Commercial Co.
Matt Ostanik - President, Submittal Exchange LLC
Benjamin Page - Director, Des Moines park and recreation
Dustin Petersen - Partner, McGladrey LLP
Nick Renkoski - Director of marketing and communications, Des Moines Metro Opera
Rachel Rowley - Partner, BrownWinick PLC
John Ruan IV - Vice president, financial institutions, Bankers Trust Co.
Jennifer Soma - Business lead, IDI Actuarial and Product Development Group, Principal Financial Group Inc.
Heather Starr - Real estate agent, RE/MAX Innovations
Aimee Staudt - Director of development, Knapp Properties Inc.
Courtney Strutt Todd - Shareholder attorney, Davis Brown Law Firm
Nikki Syverson - Event Director, Des Moines Wine Festival Foundation
Howard Tempero - Experience design strategist, Spindustry Digital
Tony Timm - Executive director, Central Iowa Shelter & Services


2013 Alumnus of the Year

Carole Tillotson – Class of 2001
Associate Director of Career Development, Drake University Law School

Each year, this award is given to a past Forty Under 40 class member to recognize continued contributions to the community after his or her initial recognition. Carole Tillotson was a Windsor Heights City Council member for eight years, and currently serves on the Iowa Ethics and Campaign Disclosure Board, to which she was appointed by former Gov. Chet Culver. Last year she was awarded the Madelyn M. Levitt Distinguished Community Service Award, the highest honor a member of the Drake faculty can receive. In addition, she has been involved with a laundry list of nonprofit organizations including, Bravo Greater Des Moines, Metro Arts, and the Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation.