Principal executive Dan Houston has been elected as chairman of the board of directors for United Way of Central Iowa.  Houston, president of Retirement, Insurance & Financial Services for Principal Financial Group Inc.  has been on the board since 2009. Chris Littlefield, Aviva CEO, was elected vice chairman. New board members include: Tom Ahart, superintendent, Des Moines Public Schools; Marta Codina, regional banking area president, Wells Fargo Bank; Tom Mahoney, president and CEO,  ITA Group; Franci Phelan, senior vice president of Grow People, Kum & Go LC; Joyce Pingel, vice president of information technology, Kum & Go LC; Maria Volante, senior vice president, Dardis Communications; and John Zieser, chief development officer and general counsel, Meredith Corp. For a complete list of United Way board members, click here.