The Business Record is proud to announce the 19th annual list of Forty Under 40 honorees.

These 40 local business leaders, who were chosen by past award winners, are under the age of 40 and have demonstrated impressive career achievements and unparalleled community involvement.

Together, they join 720 past Business Record Forty Under 40 honorees to bring the total number of honorees to 760 since the Business Record began the awards in 2000.

Each of the honorees will be profiled in the March 16 edition of the Business Record and recognized at an event on March 29. Congratulations to all of this year's honorees!

Share your congrats ... #BR40u40
to this year's honorees on Twitter and Facebook using hashtag #BR40u40. Here are some of this year's winners' Twitter handles: @rxbarron5, @chrisaxiotis, @alisonem, @magscrabb, @worldfoodprize, @thenextnorm, @Rudy_Fors, @sarahopkinsdsm, @krkunze, @capitalchirodsm, @kevinmccarthy, @coreyrmorrison, @gwjplatts, @evdayspa, @willsigns, @joebearsorenson, @_theycallmetoni, @jtaylormoon, @jrtextor

Event Information:
Date: March 29, 2018
Location: Sheraton West Des Moines
Time: 4 to 7 p.m.
Register here

2018 Forty Under 40 Honorees:

Ashley Aust - Hubbell Realty Co.
Rob Barron - Grand View University
Christopher Axiotis - FBL Financial Group
Leslie Behaunek - Nyemaster Goode
Bobbi Bentz - Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield
Charlie Bottenberg - Masterson Bottenberg
Krystle Campa - Davis Brown Law Firm
Alison Cate - Goodwill of Central Iowa
Mathew Coen - Walker Coen Lorentzen Architects
Maggie Crabb - Swerve Outreach and Altoona Kids Cafe
Libby Crimmings - World Food Prize Foundation
Deidre DeJear - Caleo Enterprises
Dan Drendel - Slingshot Architecture
Katie Fencl - Catch Des Moines
Rudy Fors - US Bank
Katie Gieszler - City of Urbandale
Mollie Giller - Amanda the Panda
Sara Hopkins - ReMax Concepts
Kristin Hurd - Hurd Real Estate Services
Amy Johnson - BrownWinick Law Firm
Sid Juwarker - Terracon
Kris Kunze - KCL Engineering
Maren Lenhart - Delta Dental of Iowa
Chris LoRang - Capital Chiropractic & Rehabilitation Center
Stephani Manning - Holmes Murphy
Kevin McCarthy - Workiva
Shayla McCormally - McCormally & Cosgrove
Keshia Meissner - Beacon of Life
Brooke Mickelson - Brookies
Corey Morrison - On With Life
Gabriel Olson - West Bank
Justin Platts - RDG Planning & Design
Cassie Sampson - East Village Spa
Natasha Sayles - Des Moines Wine Festival Foundation
Will Signs - CDS Global
Joseph Sorenson - Community Foundation of Des Moines
Antoinette Stevens - Principal Financial Group
Joey Taylor-Moon - Hubbell Realty Co.
JR Textor - Hubbell Realty Co.
Amanda Young - Bankers Trust


The Business Record is seeking nominations for our 19th annual ?Forty Under 40 Awards. Candidates will be judged on both professional accomplishments and involvement with civic organizations. Nominees must be less than 40 years old as of March 29, 2018, to be considered for recognition. Nominations must be received by Friday, Jan. 12, at noon.

Learn more about Forty Under 40:
Check out the videos below for some tips and advice about the nomination process and how we select the class each year. If you still have more questions about the nomination process, please email BPC Vice President Jason Swanson at

VIDEO: Forty Under 40 FAQ
Chris Conetzkey, publisher of the Business Record, interviews Jason Swanson, vice president at Business Publications Corporation, about some of the most frequently asked Forty Under 40 questions he receives, and gets some advice from Swanson on how to stand out to the nominating committee. Watch Video

VIDEO: How the Forty under 40 class is selected
One of the questions we get asked the most is, "how do you pick the 40 honorees?" To help demystify the process, Business Record Publisher Chris Conetzkey asks BPC Vice President Jason Swanson to explain how the selection process works, who does the judging and what the judges are looking for. Watch Video

Past Forty Under 40's

Class of 2017
Class of 2016
Class of 2015
Class of 2014
Class of 2013
Class of 2012
Class of 2011
Class of 2010
Class of 2009
Class of 2008

Complete class history


Connect with us

Twitter: @BusinessRecord
Event Hashtag: #BR40U40



More questions?

Send an email to Jason Swanson, BPC vice president.