Nearly 40 members of the American Institute of Architects, Iowa Chapter (AIA Iowa), have been recognized as Citizen Architects for their volunteer service to Central Iowa. The citizen architects are:

Tim Bungert, Associate AIA, Brooks Borg Skiles Architecture & Engineering – Committee Member, Iowa Architectural Foundation, promotes awareness and appreciation of architecture and design

Tom Clause, AIA, Clause Architects – Member, Iowa Architectural Examining Board, works with the Attorney General's office on interpretation of practice act and administrative rules and strive to be pro active in educating the general public and building officials when architectural services are required by law

Clark Colby, Associate AIA, Angelo Architectural Associates – Committee Member, Iowa Architectural Foundation; Mentor, Community Youth Concepts, encourages opportunities to prepare youth for success in school, work and life; Construction Associate, Habitat for Humanity, seeks to eliminate substandard housing and revitalize neighborhoods

Matt Cole, AIA, Brooks Borg Skiles Architecture & Engineering – Team Leader, Architecture Construction and Engineering (ACE) Mentor Program, inspiring students to pursue careers in design and construction

Mike Dean, Associate AIA, INVISION Architecture – Mentor, ACE Mentor Program

Megan Drake, Associate AIA, Neumann Monson Architects – Committee Member, Iowa Architectural Foundation

Scotney Fenton, AIA, RDG Planning & Design – Commissioner, Des Moines Historic Preservation Commission, interprets and applies the architectural guidelines for building rehabilitation for local landmarks and buildings located in Des Moines' historic districts

Kristin Greteman, Associate AIA, Kaufman Construction Design & Build – Vice President of Communications, Habitat (for Humanity) Young Professionals; Teaching Artist, After School Arts Program (ASAP), seeks to cultivate students’ creative minds and encourages them to learn something new; Mentor, Community Youth Concepts

Scott Hatfield, AIA, SVPA Architects – Chairman of the Board, West Des Moines Development Connection (West Des Moines Chamber of Commerce), promotes economic development in the city of West Des Moines; Board Member, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Iowa

Naura Heiman Godar, AIA, RDG Planning & Design – Board Member, American Diabetes Association, funding research to prevent, cure and manage diabetes

Danielle Hermann, AIA, OPN Architects – Board Member, “I Have A Dream Foundation,” seeks to motivate and empower children from low-income communities to reach their education and career goals

Phil Hodgin, AIA, RDG Planning & Design – Co-Chair, Greater Des Moines Partnership Capital Crossroads, advances economic development, transportation enhancements, neighborhood development, infrastructural improvements and common community advancement; Director, West Des Moines Community Enrichment Foundation, seeks to preserve and improve quality of life by engaging others in philanthropic support and services; Mentor, Community Connect, encourages future leaders and givers through meaningful and creative mentoring connections

Frank Hoifeldt, Associate AIA, RDG Planning & Design – Commissioner, City of Waukee Planning & Zoning Commission, considers rezoning, preliminary and final plats, site plans and certain ordinance changes; Board of Managers, Waukee Family YMCA, committed to strengthening community through youth development, healthy living and social responsibility

Michelle Huggins, AIA, Shive-Hattery – Board Member/Green Schools Chair, Unites States Green Building Council (USGBC) Iowa Chapter, promotes the integration of sustainable practices into Iowa’s built environment

Lori Jorgensen Unick, Associate AIA, Brooks Borg Skiles Architecture & Engineering – Board Member, Preservation Iowa, strives to build partnerships that enhance Iowa’s economic and cultural future through the preservation of Iowa’s historic resources

Karl Kaufman, AIA, FEH Associates – Board Chair, Iowa Architectural Foundation

Steve King, AIA, INVISION Architecture – Board of Trustees, State Historical Society of Iowa, strives to connect Iowans with their historical legacy and enable Iowans to learn the relevance and importance of Iowa’s history; Teaching Artist, After School Arts Program (ASAP)

Paul Mankins, FAIA, Substance Architecture – President, Greater Des Moines Art Foundation, committed to advancing public art projects through public/private partnerships

Edward Matt, AIA, GENESIS Design – Community Design Program Committee Chair, Iowa Architectural Foundation

Michael Morman, AIA, Shive-Hattery – Treasurer/Executive Board Member, Unites States Green Building Council (USGBC) Iowa Chapter

Diane Munch, Associate AIA, FEH Architects – Member, Iowa Architectural Foundation

Kristofer Orth, AIA, Design Alliance, Inc. – Mentor, ACE Mentor Program

Matt Ostanik, AIA, Textura – Chair, Dallas Center Board of Adjustment, advocates for a healthy, well-designed community

Raymond Phillips, AIA, Phillips Consulting – Chairman of the Board, Warren County Greenfield Township, oversees township public services and encourages energy efficiency for county and township projects; Vice President, Lincoln High School Alumni Foundation, provides post secondary educational scholarships for graduates of Lincoln High School; Vice Chairman, Warren County Democrats, supports Democratic party candidates

Tina Rhodes, Associate AIA, GENESIS Architectural Design – Committee Member, Iowa Architectural Foundation

Tyler Riley, AIA, FEH Associates, Inc. – Chair of the Board of Directors, Greater Des Moines Leadership Institute, guiding leaders to greater public awareness, commitment and involvement in the community

Cristina Rodriquez, Associate AIA, INVISION Architecture – Member, After School Arts Program (ASAP)

Michelle Sacco, Associate AIA, RDG Planning & Design – Board Member, Iowa Architectural Foundation Board of Trustees

Brian Schwartz, Associate AIA– Boot Camp Facilitator, Mercy Hospital, instructs new fathers on what to expect with a new baby

Cory Sharp, Associate AIA, FEH Associates – Executive Board Member, Greater Des Moines Young Professionals Connection, encourages an environment that attracts and retains young professionals in Greater Des Moines

Bryan Shiffler, AIA, Shiffler Associates Architects – Board Member, Orchard Place, provides pro-bono architectural services for this sub-acute children’s psychiatric hospital

James Spiller, Associate AIA, Knowles Blunck Architecture – President, Watrous South Neighborhood Association, seeks to foster a sense of community and improve safety and the beautification of the neighborhood; Committee Member, Iowa Architectural Foundation

Rod Stevens, AIA, DuPont Pioneer – Board of Appeals, City of Urbandale, recommends adoption and amendment of the model building codes by the city

Steve Stimmel, AIA, Brooks Borg Skiles Architecture & Engineering – Architectural Historian/Architect, State of Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs, developing Iowa’s interest in the arts, history and other cultural matters; State Historical Society of Iowa, serves to identify, preserve and protect Iowa’s historic resources

David Unick – AIA, Brooks Borg Skiles Architecture Engineering – Board of Directors Chair, ACE Mentor Program

Todd Wehr, AIA, Shive-Hattery – Director, Ankeny Area Chamber of Commerce

Daniel Willrich, AIA, Hy-Vee, Inc. – Mayor, pro-tem, Dallas Center

Tom Wollan, AIA, FRK Architects – Ex-officio Board Member, Iowa Architectural Foundation