For the past 16 years the Business Record has recognized women who have made outstanding contributions to the community in a variety of areas with the Women of Influence awards. 

The Women of Influence awards celebrate the work of women who have made a difference. They’ve devoted their lives to doing things most wouldn’t. They’ve spent countless hours on various boards. They’re role models with impeccable ethics. They’ve blazed a trail either personally or professionally for other women to follow.

Our 2014 honorees: 

Angela Walker Franklin
 President | Des Moines University

Read the article here





Phyllis Hansell Retired clinical psychologist & executive coach and consultant

Read the article here





Lisa Mills-LaValle Owner and chef | Trellis

Read the article here





Janet Metcalf Chair of board | Broadlawns Medical Center

Read the article here



Lynette Rasmussen
 General Counsel | The Rasmussen Group Inc.

Read the article here


Mary Sellers
 President | United Way of Central Iowa

Read the article here


Michelle Book Gowdy
 Director of community and academic relations | Dupont Pioneer

2014 Women Business Owner of the Year: 

Kim Augspurger
- Owner | Saxton Inc.
Read the article here

2014 Meredith Emerging Woman of Influence:

Tiffany Tauscheck
- VP of marketing & development | Greater Des Moines Convention and Visitors Bureau