The LWBJ Prometheus Awards named Ames the Technology Community of the Year, for attracting new tech developments that have taken advantage of the programs of Iowa State University, the ISU Research Park, the Des Moines Area Community College Hunziker Academy, and the support of the Ames Chamber of Commerce.

Several awards honored the work of accelerator NewBoCo, including the LWBJ Impact Award and the CEO of the Year award for Eric Engelmann.

Ankeny-based Advanced Analytical Technologies Inc. won the Life Sciences & Biotech Company of the Year Award. SwineTech of New Sharon, which aims to lessen mortality in hog facilities, was named Student Innovator of the Year.

The awards gala featured the theme "Level Up" and a display of vintage video games, with table centerpieces that were lit sculptures of Tetris formations. Poet James Autry gave the keynote, stressing the importance of relationships, and a parade of winners each came to the stage to tunes that included the Beatles' "Come Together."

See a complete list of winners.

Iowa's $11 billion technology industry was honored at an elaborate dinner, ceremony and dance at the Community Choice Credit Union Convention Center Thursday night. The industry accounts for 8.8 percent of the state's gross domestic product and employs 76,000 workers.

"The Prometheus Awards is the most prestigious recognition for Iowa's technology industry and brings together leaders from the tech community to celebrate the year's most momentous innovations," Brian Waller, president of the event organizer, Technology Association of Iowa, said in a statement. "The 2017 award winners epitomize the great talent, companies and communities in Iowa and further solidify Iowa's reputation as a technology state."